web analytics

Categorized | Outdoors

Hunting season safety tips

from Sheriff Lawrence Stelma, Kent County Sheriff’s Department

Michigan’s fields and forests will soon be alive with blaze orange hunting gear. Sheriff Stelma wants both visitors and residents of Kent County to know some important safety rules before setting out to deer camp.

•    Your hunting license and the identification used to purchase it (Michigan driver’s license, identification card, or DNR sport card) must be carried with you at all times while hunting.
•    All hunters must wear an item of clothing (hat, cap, vest, jacket, or rain gear) in “hunter orange”; it must be the outermost garment; and it must be visible from all sides. If it is camouflage, at least 50 percent of the garment must be orange.
•    Hunting hours begin approximately one-half hour before sunrise and last until approximately one-half hour after sunset.
•    Safety zones include all areas within 150 yards (450 feet) of an occupied building, house, cabin, barn, or other farm building. You may not hunt in this area or shoot at any animal within this area, unless you have the written permission of the property owner.
•    It is illegal to drink alcohol or use intoxicating drugs before hunting.
•    Sheriff Stelma also wants hunters to take the following precautions to prevent injury or death while hunting this season:
•    Familiarize yourself with the area where you will be hunting
•    Never assume you are alone in the woods
•    Never assume other hunters are acting responsibly.
•    If sitting against a rock or tree, make sure it is wider than your shoulders so you are not mistaken for a target.
•    Be 100 percent sure of your target before shooting.

Sheriff Stelma urges all hunters to act responsibly this season. “Reacquaint yourself with Michigan’s hunting laws and follow these safety tips to prevent a tragedy from happening this year.”

This post was written by:

- who has written 19598 posts on Cedar Springs Post Newspaper.

Contact the author

Comments are closed.



Get Your Copy of The Cedar Springs Post for just $40 a year!