web analytics

Categorized | News

Primary Election results 2016

Primary Election results 2016


Sheriff Larry Stelma

Sheriff Larry Stelma

Sheriff Stelma wins primary; Algoma, Nelson to see new supervisors

Tuesday’s Michigan state primary election saw lower voter turnout in Kent County than for the record-setting presidential primary earlier this year, with only 8.95 percent of Kent County’s registered voters going to the polls.

Some races were uncontested, but many of the township trustee and supervisor races were decided in this election because the candidates all registered under the same party.

Kent County Sheriff

One of the bigger races in Kent County was the one for Sheriff. Incumbent Larry Stelma, of Cedar Springs, who has served as Sheriff for 16 years, fended off three other Republican contenders and will face Democrat Michael Scruggs in the November election. He won handily over the other candidates, garnering 27,382 votes. Timothy Lewis came in second with 6,539 votes; followed by John Stedman with 6,464; and Stacey Browe with 3,830.

“I continue to be humbled and encouraged by the support of the community and the sheriff’s office,” Stelma told WZZM13 in a televised interview. “I don’t view it as just something on me, it is a commentary on the entire agency. Every one of those officers everyday goes out there committed to serve the public. It’s humbling and it’s encouraging.”

Algoma Township

Algoma Township residents voted in a new supervisor in Tuesday’s election. Former state representative Kevin Green won over current Supervisor Nancy Clary by 300 votes—809 to 509. Four positions were open for trustee with five running. James Powell (807), Gordon Pickerd (788), Bob Wilson (752), and Tom Ungrey (650), all snagged seats. Mark Lemoine finished fifth with 531. Judy Bigney ran uncontested as clerk, as did Deborah Ellenwood for treasurer.

Courtland Township

Four seats were open for Courtland trustees, with six people running, all as Republicans. Voted in was Mary Ann Andersen (384), Mike Krygier (381); Kimberly McIntyre (352); and Matt McConnon (303), all incumbents. Following close behind was Thomas Kinney (276), and Daniel Pilarski (269).

Courtland Supervisor Charles Porter ran uncontested, as did Colleen Brown for treasurer. Sandy Frandsen (R), Marilyn Crosby (D), and Grace Mosher (NPA) will vie for the office of Clerk in November.

Nelson Township

Nelson Township residents will have a new supervisor at the helm this fall in Robyn Britton. Current Supervisor Tom Noreen was on the ballot, but told the Post ahead of time that he had withdrawn too late to get his name taken off. The total was Britton 138, Noreen 86. Clerk Laura Hoffman held on to her seat, beating out Jami Norton 137-83. Treasurer Katy Austin also will be back, winning 148 to 78 over Leticia Nielsen. Glen Armstrong and Maureen Mahoney ran uncontested for the trustees positions.

Oakfield Township

Oakfield Supervisor William Dean held on to his seat by just nine votes, coming in ahead of Paul Decess 344 to 335. Dean has been supervisor for 24 years. In the trustee race, there were four seats and six people running, all as Republicans. Winning the seats were Chad Sowerby (407); Bryan Porter (381); Kenneth Rittersdorf (365); and Pamela Riker (339). They were  followed closely by Donald Mason (300); and Ken Craft (223). Running uncontested was Larry Parker for treasurer, and Linda VanHouten for clerk. Oakfield also passed their fire protection proposal 538 to 391.

Solon Township

Solon Supervisor Bob Ellick won handily over Jerrod Roberts, 334 to 101. He has been supervisor for 12 years. Clerk Mary Lou Poulsen and treasurer Arthur Gerhardt ran uncontested. In the trustee race, V. Fred Gunnell (R), Mark Hoskins (R), Christine Witt (D), and Bruce Gravelin (NPA) will vie for two trustee seats in November.

Spencer Township

Spencer Township residents voted in a new clerk Tuesday. Lisa Wright garnered 204 votes, over incumbent Denise Biegalle’s 129. In the trustees race, there are two seats open. John Tow (184) and John Wood Jr. (137) came out on top for the Republicans. Other contenders were Christopher Lange (130); Frederick Zomerhuis (79); and Clint Chilcote (71). Tow, Wood, and Democrat Eldon Lutz will vie for the two seats in November. Scott Baas (R) and Judy Geglio (D) will also be on the ballot against each other for treasurer in November. Supervisor Jeff Knapp ran uncontested. Voters also passed both of their Fire protection millage proposals.

For more election results around the area, visit http://www.electionmagic.com/results/mi/K41results/K4100101sum.htm.

This post was written by:

- who has written 17238 posts on Cedar Springs Post Newspaper.

Contact the author

Comments are closed.

Advertising Rates Brochure
Watson Rockford
Cedar Car Co
Ray Winnie
Kent County Credit Union


Get Your Copy of The Cedar Springs Post for just $40 a year!