As the 4th of July fast approaches, the Kent County Sheriff Department wants to remind you to be safe and follow the fireworks laws.
Michigan law prohibits using fireworks:
• On public property such as a city, township or county park.
• On church or school property.
• On private property, such as business parking lots, without the owner’s specific consent.
• While under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances.
Michigan law also prohibits the sale of fireworks to anybody under the age of 18.
Michigan law also permits local governments to impose firework curfews between the hours of midnight and 8 a.m. the day of, before and after the holiday. Fireworks may be prohibited other days of the year. Check with the city, village or township that you plan on using fireworks in for their specific restrictions. (See specifics for City of Cedar Springs below.)
Always use caution when lighting fireworks. Last year, more that 8,700 people were treated in US hospital emergency rooms for firework related injuries. One-third of those were children under the age of 15.
In addition to injuries, fireworks caused more that 17,800 fires which resulted in eight civilian deaths, one firefighter death and $32 million in property damage.
Fireworks Safety Tips:
• Only buy from licensed dealers
• Never alter or combine fireworks
• Children should never handle fireworks
• Never point fireworks toward anything other that open sky
• Only use away from structures, vehicles and trees
Follow the rules, be a good neighbor and be careful and you will have a happy holiday.
In the City of Cedar Springs: People may only use consumer fireworks in the city if it’s on the day before, the day of, or the day after a national holiday, but not between the hours of 1 a.m. and 8 a.m. The national holidays include New Year’s Day, Martin Luther King Day, President’s Day or Washington’s Birthday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.
If residents want to use fireworks any other day of the year, they will need to purchase a permit, but must do so 15 days prior to the event. In order to receive a permit, the applicant needs to show proof of financial responsibility by a bond or insurance for possible damages to property or personal injuries resulting from the fireworks. They also must not be within 15 feet of another person’s property except with permission.