web analytics

Categorized | Featured, News

FFA begins new era


N-FFA-Team-in-basementOn Monday, April 22, 2013, the Cedar Springs FFA Chapter gathered at the High School to elect the 2013-2014 chapter officers. After many speeches and votes, seven chapter officers were elected. The new officer team went to the Shack bed and breakfast on April 30-May 1st with advisor Larry Reyburn and FFA booster Ginger Nelson. At the Shack, the group spent 24 hours in rigorous training and planning with 16 other teams from around West Michigan. Besides learning the duties of their new offices, the group spent time planning FFA activities for the 2013-14 school year and summer.

Newly elected president Justin Davis stated, “We face a busy schedule this year.  We are planning our land laboratory crops of corn and soybeans. We are also planning to create a booth for the Kent County Youth Fair and are making plans to attend Ag Expo in June.”

The group will continue to hone their leadership skills and continue planning when they attend the FFA State Leadership Conference for Chapter Officers at Michigan State University on July 10 and 11 this summer.

The new officers include: President, Justin Davis, Vice-President, Dave Schoenborn, Secretary, Kevin DeCanter, Treasurer, John Spangenberg, Reporter, Olivia Maslin, Sentinel, Tyler Savickas, and Historian, Jeff Davis. The officers look forward to their future duties and responsibilities for the next year.


This post was written by:

- who has written 19598 posts on Cedar Springs Post Newspaper.

Contact the author

Comments are closed.



Get Your Copy of The Cedar Springs Post for just $40 a year!