web analytics

Categorized | News

Deadline is approaching for dog licenses!

Michigan law requires that all dogs four months of age or older must be licensed. Licenses purchased after March 1 will cost you twice as much! It’s quick, easy, and a tag will help your dog get home safely if lost. Tags also reduce the chance of theft, show your dog is vaccinated against rabies, AND spare you from an expensive citation.

Fee Schedule through March 1:

Regular Fees:

Spayed/ Neutered $12.00

Not Sterilized $26.00

Senior Citizens’ Discounted Fees:

Spayed/Neutered $6.00

Not Sterilized $13.00

After March 1, the fees double:

Regular Fees:

Spayed/ Neutered $24.00

Not Sterilized $52.00

Senior Citizens’ Fees:

Spayed/Neutered $12.00

Not Sterilized $26.00

You must present a valid certificate of rabies vaccination and proof of spay/neuter (in order to receive spay/neuter discount) for your dog in order to receive a license. If you purchase a new dog after March 1, you have 30 days to get a license without paying a penalty, but you must show a dated proof-of-purchase.

The Kent County Animal Shelter is located at 740 Fuller NE, in Grand Rapids. Licenses can be obtained Monday through Friday from 10 a.m.-6 p.m. and Saturday from 8 a.m.-noon. Online renewal is fast and easy at https://www.accesskent.com/DogLicense/. Call the Kent County Animal Shelter for more information at 616.632.7300. The Kent County Treasurer’s Office, the Humane Society of West Michigan, Vicky’s Pet Connection, “Critter Cottage,” C-SNIP, and numerous city and township offices also sell licenses.

Pet adoptions are also available at the Kent County Animal Shelter. Springtime is when the shelter sees a huge influx of pets, especially puppies and kittens. When you adopt from the shelter, we spay or neuter the pet, helping alleviate the issues of overpopulation. Check out www.icpawz.com for information on adopting a pet.

This post was written by:

- who has written 8444 posts on Cedar Springs Post Newspaper.


Contact the author

Comments are closed.