web analytics

Categorized | Featured, News

Noreen wins Nelson Supervisor seat; Ellick holds on to Solon seat

One township elected a new Supervisor in Tuesday’s primary, and another renewed their Supervisor for another term.

Nelson Township Supervisor Glen Armstrong ran as a trustee this time around, leaving the Supervisor seat open. Trustee Tom Noreen garnered 67 percent of the vote to beat out Sand Lake Village Manager Kirk Thielke for the position, by a vote of 205 to 103.

In Solon Township, Supervisor Bob Ellick held on to his seat with 75 percent of the vote, winning over challenger Michele Andres, current Red Flannel Festival President, 432 to 147.

In other contested races, Solon clerk John Rideout ran for a trustee position, winning a seat with 333 votes. The other trustee seat went to incumbent Fred Gunnell with 271. Incumbent Rich Straub came in third with 250, and challenger Tony Owen received 156. Treasurer Heather Zenker won over write-in James Dean with a vote of 451 to 66.

In Nelson Township, Glen Armstrong won a trustee seat with 215 votes, and incumbent Maureen Mahoney won the second seat with 116. Challengers Warren Hanson and Gabrielle Warner came in with 108 and 97 respectively.

In Spencer Township, newcomer John Tow won one of two seats with 157 votes, and incumbent Albert Frandsen took the other seat with 92. Other challengers were Kari Kleynenberg (56), incumbent Jeffrey Stapp (53), Christopher Lange (46) and Eldon Lutz (43).

In Algoma Township, six candidates vied for four seats. Winners were incumbents Gordon Pickerd (488), Nancy Clary (458), James Powell (441), and Wayne Bigney (380). Kristy Lecceadone got 341 votes, and Robert Newberger 339.

In Courtland Township, six candidates also ran for four seats. Winning seats were incumbents MaryAnn Anderson (367) and Colleen Brown (312); and challengers Kimberly McIntyre (296) and Mike Krygier (295). Incumbent Thomas Kinney received 280 votes, and Matt McConnon 256.

Fire protection millages passed in Nelson, Courtland and Spencer.

For more election results, including uncontested races and elected delegates, visit the election section at www.accesskent.com.

This post was written by:

- who has written 19598 posts on Cedar Springs Post Newspaper.

Contact the author

Comments are closed.



Get Your Copy of The Cedar Springs Post for just $40 a year!