web analytics

Categorized | Sports

Girls track second at Belding, sets records at Big Rapids

The underclassmen on the Red Hawk team traveled to Belding on Monday May 21 and took second place in the meet with 88 points. The host Redskins won the meet with 120 points.  Aly Hamilton won the 100 and 200 meter dashes and set new meet records in both events with times of 13.14 and 26.88.  The 400 meter relay team of Taylor Vanlangen, Sayge Wight, Marissa Oakes and Aly Hamilton took first place and set anew meet record with a time if 52.4.

Marissa Oakes also took two first places by winning the 100 and 300 meter hurdles. The 3200-meter relay team of Emily Shaft, Shayne Mann, Caitlyn McClurken and Maddie Pekrul also placed first.

Other placers were:

Second: Marissa Oakes long jump; Maddie Pekrul 3200 run; 1600 Relay team of Emily Shaft, Caitlyn McClurken, Mara Ellison, and Aly Hamilton.

Third: Emily Shaft 400 meter run; 800 meter relay team of Kellie Spahr, Sayge Wight, Mara Ellison, and Olivia Finch.

Fourth: Taylor Vanlangen long jump; Briana Hinton shot put; Kayla Bohy discus;

Maddie Pekrul 1600 meter run; Caitlyn McClurken 800 meter run

Fifth: Olivia Finch 100 meter dash; Shayne Mann 1600 and 3200 meter runs;

Emily Shaft 200 meter dash.

Girls set records at Big Rapids

Friday, May 25, the girls track team competed in the Pioneer Classic at Ferris State University. In the non scoring meet the team brought home seven first place finishes, set two meet records and set one new school record. Kenzie Weiler set a new school and meet record in the 1600 meter run with a time of 5:01.85 while winning the event. Katie Weiler won the 3200 run and set a new meet record of 11:23.31. Aly Hamilton won the 100 meter dash and Kenzie Weiler was the other individual winner in the 800 meter run.

The team also won three relays on the night. The 400 meter relay team of Rieley Hondalus, Marissa Oakes, Abby VanDusen placed first. The 3200 meter relay team of Maddie Pekrul, Kayla Ovokaitys, Katie Weiler, and Kenzie Weiler started off the running events by taking first. The 1600 meter relay team of Emily Shaft, Aly Hamilton, Rieley Hondalus, and Kenzie Weiler closed off the night by winning with the third fastest time in school history with a time of 4:11.4.

Other placers were:

Second: Aly Hamilton 200 meter dash; Katie Weiler 1600 meter run.

Third: Jeanette Sukstas shot put; Marissa Oakes 100 meter hurdles; Emily Shaft 400 meter dash.

Fourth: Abby VanDusen pole vault; Maddie Pekrul 3200 meter run.

Fifth: Jeanette Sukstas discus; Briana Pierson high jump; Abby VanDusen 100 meter hurdles; Maddie Pekrul 1600 meter run; Allie Veltkamp 800 meter run; Shaelyn Mann 3200 meter run.

Sixth: Abby VanDusen long jump; Caitlin McClurken 1600 meter run; Christina Dean 3200 meter run.

This post was written by:

- who has written 19598 posts on Cedar Springs Post Newspaper.

Contact the author

Comments are closed.



Get Your Copy of The Cedar Springs Post for just $40 a year!