web analytics

Categorized | Outdoors

Antlerless deer season opens in selected areas

Antlerless deer season opens in selected areas

The Department of Natural Resources and Environment reminds deer hunters that they will have their first opportunity to go afield this fall when the early antlerless firearms season opens Thursday, Sept. 16, on private land in selected areas.

The five-day season is being held in areas where deer populations are currently above management goals or conflicts are occurring with abundant deer on private lands. Hunting will be allowed in:

– All counties located entirely in Zone 3 (southern Michigan)
– Deer Management Unit 162, which is that portion of Newaygo County south of highway M-20
– All of Alcona, Alpena, Antrim, Bay, Iosco, Isabella, Mecosta, Midland, Montmorency, Muskegon, Oceana, Oscoda and Presque Isle counties
– The portion of Charlevoix County in Deer Management Unit 015, and
– The portions of Arenac County within Zone 2 east of I-75 and within Zone 3.

Hunters must possess a valid antlerless license or a Deer Management Assistance Permit for the proper DMU.  Hunters may use firearms or archery, or crossbow gear, but they must honor all firearms regulations, including wearing hunter orange.

The limit is one antlerless deer per license. Baiting is prohibited in the Lower Peninsula.

This post was written by:

- who has written 19462 posts on Cedar Springs Post Newspaper.

Contact the author

Comments are closed.



Get Your Copy of The Cedar Springs Post for just $40 a year!